Addergoole & Lahardane, Mayo

On Thursday 11th April 1912, one hundred and thirteen steerage passengers (third Class) boarded Titanic at Queenstown (Cobh) in Cork. Fourteen of these passengers were from Addergoole Parish (Lahardane). Eleven of these fourteen died when RMS Titanic sank on her maiden voyage, east of Newfoundland, having struck an iceberg. These Titanic passengers are known locally as the Addergoole Fourteen.

The 3 who survived were; Annie Kate Kelly, Delia McDermott, Annie McGowan.

The 11 who perished were; Catherine Bourke, John Bourke, Mary Bourke, Mary Canavan, Pat Canavan, Bridget Donohue, Nora Fleming, James Flynn, Catherine McGowan, Delia Mahon and Mary Mangan. The Addergoole Titanic Society believe that the loss of these 11 lives represents the largest proportionate loss of life from any locality on RMS Titanic. To put the loss in perspective, in 1911, the year before the Titanic sank the population of the Addergoole was 3,496 people living in 703 houses according to the Irish census. The eleven Addergoole passengers who perished represent 0.3% of that population, or 2% of all the Third Class passengers lost when Titanic sank.

This was truly, an extraordinary loss for their small parish.

There are no products to list in this category.

Titanic Facts

NEW : 105th Anniversay Products

Click below for this months offer

105th Anniversay Products